Events Share Tweet

Performance  |  A Musical Feast

Friday, February 2, 2018, 8 pm

Peter and Elizabeth C. Tower Auditorium  

Dmaathen (1976) Iannis Xenakis (1922-2001)

Steve Solook percussion

Megan Kyle oboe

Iannis Xenakis, Dmaathen (1976)

Dmaathen was originally scored for oboe and percussion; the oboe part has since been adapted, with the composer’s endorsement, for flute and for soprano saxophone. The piece is in two large sections. In the first, drum outbursts sit atop a soundscape of saxophone multiphonics; the second features declamatory and almost humorous march-like passages from both instruments. These two large parts are framed with a short introduction (with slinky sax lines and tribal drum sounds) and a short coda (with a stately dialogue between the sax and vibraphone). From there, this visceral and bizarre piece quickly dwindles into nothingness.

Coleccion Nocturna, for clarinet, bass clarinet, piano and 4-channel tape (1983) David Felder (1953-)
Jean Kopperud, clarinet
Eric Huebner, piano

Coleccion Nocturna for clarinets, piano and 4-channel tape, is a work of haunting isolation and nostalgia that is loosely based on the Neruda poem of the same name. It is a set of five "variations" on what Felder calls, "a wholly self-contained musical object" from his older piano work called Rocket Summer. The "theme" never seems to be presented clearly in its entirety, but what is clear is that diatonic fragments are heard trying to poke their way through five contrasting, modernistically surreal textures. The variations mirror a kind of electrifying tension as well as a crystallization of emotions, 19 minutes of foremost constantly changing musical perspectives, which despite the technical demands speak with an extraordinary directness. []

Études for Piano (Book 2) György Ligeti (1923-2006)

Eric Huebner piano

Piano Études, Book II

Glamb Borong
Der Zauberlehrling En Suspens Entrelacs L’escalier du diable Coloana infinită

György Ligeti (1923-2006)

The piano études by György Ligeti are perhaps the most significant recent additions to the main body of piano repertoire. In book two of these ètudes, we hear the influence of Balinese Gamelan music, jazz, American minimalism and the player piano studies of Conlon Nancarrow. 

Tickets: $20 / $10 for Burchfield Penney members. Call 716-878-6011 for info and tickets.