Events Share Tweet

Bruce Jackson (b. 1936), Bruce Jackson

Bruce Jackson (b. 1936), Bruce Jackson

Performance  |  A Musical Feast

Sunday, March 10, 2013, 2–4 pm

Peter and Elizabeth C. Tower Auditorium  

The March 10 performance of A Musical Feast includes Charles Castleman, violin; Jonathan Golove, cello; Wildy Zumwalt and Diane Hunger, saxophone; Claudia Hoca, piano; Tom Kolor, percussion; and Moshe Shulman, bandoneon.

The program will include Frigate by J.T. Rinker and Konzertstück für Zwei Altsaxophone, by Paul Hindemit, A Garland by David Felder pays tribute to scholar Bruce Jackson, whose Being There exhibition is currently on view at the gallery. Violinist Charles Castleman joins the group for Minstrels by Claude Debussy and Poème élégiaque by Eugène Ysaÿe. Other selections include Suite italienne by Igor Stravinsky and Three Dances by Astor Piazzolla.

Special guest Charles Castleman is a professor of violin at the University of Rochester’s Eastman School of Music. Castleman has been a soloist with the orchestras of Philadelphia, Boston, Brisbane, Chicago, Hong Kong, Moscow, Mexico City, New York, San Francisco, Seoul and Shanghai. A medalist at the Tchaikovsky and Brussels competitions, he is founder-director of the Quartet Program, now in its 40th season as an intensive workshop in solo and chamber performance.

Tickets: $20 for "not yet" members; $10 for Burchfield Penney members/students. Join today at Buy online or call 716-878-6011 during gallery hours for tickets.


Frigate (2008) J.T. Rinker (1974)
Tom Kolor, percussion Irene Haupt, images

Konzertstück für Zwei Altsaxophone (1933) Paul Hindemith (1895-1963)
I. Lebhaft
II. Mäßig langsam
III. Lebhaft

Diane Hunger, Saxophone Wildy Zumwalt, saxophone

A Garland  (for Bruce 2012) David Felder ( 1953)
Jonathan Golove, cello Bruce Jackson, images

Minstrels Claude Debussy (1862-1918) from Preludes books (December 1919/January 1910)

12 Minstrels
Claudia Hoca, piano Charles Castleman,violin

Poème élégiaque, Op. 12 ( 1895) Eugène Ysaÿe (1858-1931).Claudia Hoca piano, Charles Castleman violin


Suite italienne ( from Pulcinella 1932) Igor Stravinsky ( 1882-1971)

5.Minuetto e Finale

Claudia Hoca, piano Jonathan Golove, cello

Three Dances Astor Piazzolla (1921 – 1992)

Invierno Porteño

La Muerte del Àngel


Wildy Zumwalt saxophone, Claudia Hoca piano, Jonathan Golove cello
Moshe Shulman, bandoneon